I do not have G.A.S.

I just posted this as a comment on a friend’s blog. It was so good I thought I would post it to my blog as well:

So, Cakewalk just came out with X1 Producer, Studio, and Essential software. It ships on Dec. 8 and they’re offering a free upgrade to anyone who purchases Sonar 8.5 Producer/Studio or Sonar 7 Home Studio before then. After that the price goes up. I’ve been on the HS version forever and decided it was time to step up to the flagship. Cakewalk makes it really affordable to keep up with the upgrades so I just upgraded to Sonar Producer 8.5 Producer edition in anticipation of the free upgrade to X1 Producer when it ships.

The problem (that I knew going in) is that Sonar 8.5 PE will work fine with my 5-year-old computer (even though it is showing its age as my productions get more complex), X1 requires a multi-core processor and more RAM than my current computer has. Also, my current computer runs on Windows XP Pro, so making the jump to Windows 7 will allow me to take advantage of 64-bit recording and effects. I don’t know what that means, but it can’t be bad, right?

All that to say, I’ve upgraded my DAW in the past week and next I’m upgrading my computer.

Next is the interface. I have the Delta 44 from M-Audio and it’s working great, but I would like to have an interface that I can take with me and record on my laptop; maybe something with 8-10 inputs so I could record a band without doing a bunch of overdubs.

I know it sounds like I’m a poster child for G.A.S., but I have hit the ceiling of what I can produce with my current setup. The difference between me and someone with G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) is that I didn’t let those limitations keep me from producing some great recordings. Ain’t gonna lie, though. I’m excited yet nervous about upgrading.

About Toby Baxley

I am a songwriter, artist, home studio owner, and BBQ chef. Hang out a while and let's have some fun and make some music and food.
This entry was posted in Audio, home studio, Recording, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

